Welcome back. Perhaps you'd like to tell me what you'd like me to call you this lesson.

Have you learnt all the rules of chess, kiddo?

Yes, I know all the rules of chess.

There are still some rules I don't understand.

If you've learned how the pieces move you probably realise that some pieces are better than others.

There are some really strong guys in your team and some that are not so strong.

Let's have a look and see how much each of the pieces is worth.

We'll start with the Pawn.

A Pawn is a pretty feeble sort of guy.

He's worth just ONE POINT.

Next, the Knight.

A Knight is usually worth about three pawns.

We say that a Knight is worth THREE POINTS>

Moving on to the Bishop...

A Bishop is usually about as good as a Knight.

The Bishop is also worth THREE POINTS.

Next, take the Rook.

The Rook is a pretty strong guy. He's stronger than the Knight because he can move further.

He's stronger than the Bishop because he can use the whole board.

The Rook is worth FIVE POINTS.

The strongest guy of all in your team is the Queen.

The Queen is like a Rook and Bishop together.

And then some.

We say a Queen is worth NINE POINTS. Wow!

Finally, the King.

What's the largest number you can think of?

A billion? A trillion? Infinity?

Well, THAT'S how much the King is worth.


These figures are only a rough guide for beginners.

They slightly undervalue Bishops and Queens.

More often than not, a Bishop is slightly better than a Knight

A Bishop and a Knight are usually better than a Rook and a Pawn.

Strong players learn to rely on experience and judgement rather than points.

That's the end of the lesson, kiddo.

Guess what? It's time for a REALLY HARD EXAM about THE VALUES OF THE PIECES.

The VALUES OF THE PIECES are easy to learn.

Can I repeat the lesson first?

I'll do it later - I have to go now

I'm no good at maths: it will be too hard.